Belief

Connected to my interest in the complexities of the human soul, this series of works considers the place that beliefs hold in our inner lives. The pieces feature everyday objects from another era – vestiges of religious heritage and popular culture, found in second-hand shops and at auctions that testify to the decline in religious practice in today’s Quebec. They also reflect the enduring imprint of Catholicism on my own beliefs and those of many of us. In my work with these objects, I comment on our contradictions as we vacillate between rejection and attachment in our relationship to the world of religion.

These installations express the stigmata left by the Catholic religion, ideology of another time and value system. They also encourage reflection on this heritage and echo current issues and discussions around the challenges to freedom posed by religion. Although the items I use are associated with the Catholic faith, my approach addresses universal principles of belief and associated conceptualizations of the public and private spheres.

Textile fibres play a central role in this body of works, whether as support, material, or subject. The techniques I use, including embroidery, sewing, and needlepoint, involve an intimate relationship with materials and a labour-intensive process that requires patience and technical mastery, reminiscent of religious ritual and observance. Associated with the feminine, the actual work of stitching opens up opportunities for private reflection and invokes notions of perseverance and hope. My creations also express my respect for the meticulous work of the generations of women who made many of the textile objects that are part of our religious heritage. The metamorphosis of the liturgical garments and articles I use evokes the passage between everyday gestures and sacred ritual acts.

By juxtaposing symbolic objects with untreated materials, a number of these works also engage notions of complementarity and hybridity. The assemblage of the materials gives insight into the dichotomy between the ostentatious dimension of religion and the humble reality of the faithful. Portrait d’une novice (Portrait of a Novice), for instance, underscores the invisibility and self-denial demanded by the religious vocation, while also recalling that the body and sexuality persist, despite the dictates of religious life.

Beyond their symbolic dimension, the works also include historical references. Associated with the Indigenous cosmogony, the feathers in Carquois de pales (Pall Quiver), Parementique métissée (Mixed Parament) and Se lier (Uniting) express the ambiguous relationship between the Catholic religion and the Indigenous peoples. Presented as the only path to salvation at the time of first contact, Catholicism has at times proven cruel to them. The history of colonialism and its forced conversions are thus also visible in these works.

Through formal exploration and conceptual inquiry, Belief explores the range within religious experience, from dogmatic rigour to the promise of comfort. Rooted in a rereading of the recent past, the works crystallize my current understanding of the place of these traditions – both religious and artisanal – in our lives today.

Croyance

Interpellée par les aléas de l’âme humaine, cette série d’œuvres éveille une réflexion sur l’importance que tiennent les croyances dans nos intimités. Les œuvres réalisées regroupent des objets courants d’une autre époque, vestiges du patrimoine religieux et de la culture populaire, trouvés dans des brocantes et ventes aux enchères, témoins de la perte de foi qui frappe aujourd’hui le Québec. Ces derniers témoignent de l’empreinte du catholicisme sur mes croyances et sur celles d’une grande part d’entre nous. Ainsi, je commente nos contradictions sur le sujet qui vacillent entre rejet et attachement vis-à-vis l’univers religieux.

Ces mises en scènes expriment des stigmates laissés par la religion catholique, idéologie d’une époque et d’un système de valeurs révolus et suscitent des réflexions sur cet héritage. L’ensemble de ces œuvres fait aussi écho à l’actualité et aux discussions entourant les libertés brimées par la religion. Bien que j’emploie des éléments du catholicisme, l’approche questionne les principes universels de la croyance et les notions de public et de privé qui l’accompagnent.

La fibre textile occupe une place significative dans ce corpus, qu’elle soit support, matière ou sujet. Broderie, couture et courtepointe relèvent d’un rapport de proximité avec la matière, d’un processus minutieux nécessitant patience et maîtrise technique rappelant l’évolution de nos filiations religieuses. Liés à l’univers féminin, ces travaux d’aiguille deviennent des moments intimes de réflexion et invoquent les notions de persévérance et d’espérance. Mes créations font également part de mon respect vis-à-vis du travail minutieux des générations de femmes ayant confectionné nombre d’objets textiles du patrimoine religieux. Ainsi, la métamorphose des objets et vêtements ecclésiastiques utilisés pour ce corpus évoquent le passage entre un acte rituel sacré et le geste du quotidien.

Par sa juxtaposition d’objets symboliques et de matières brutes, certaines œuvres invoquent aussi des notions de complémentarités et d’hybridité. L’assemblage des matériaux laisse voir une dichotomie entre l’aspect ostentatoire de la religion et l’humble réalité des fidèles. Portrait d’une novice, par exemple, souligne l’invisibilité et l’abnégation de l’individu provoquée par la vocation religieuse, tout en rappelant que le corps et sa sexualité persistent au-delà de ce statut.

De plus, à la portée symbolique des œuvres s’ajoutent des références historiques. Associées à la cosmogonie amérindienne, les plumes dans Carquois de pales, Paramentique métissée et Se lier dénotent le rapport ambigu entre la religion catholique et les autochtones. Présenté comme unique planche de salut lors des premiers contacts, le catholicisme s’est parfois avéré cruel avec ces derniers. L’histoire coloniale et ses conversions forcées apparaissent donc au travers des œuvres.

L’ensemble des pièces oscillent donc entre la rigueur dogmatique et le sentiment de réconfort qui émanent tous deux de la religion et donne lieu à une expérimentation formelle et un questionnement philosophique. Ma production découle de cette relecture d’un passé récent et met à jour mes réflexions sur la place qu’occupent dans nos vies contemporaines ces traditions tant religieuses qu’artisanales.


Texte Intégral - Croyance par Véronique Gagnon
Texte Intégral – Croyance par Véronique Gagnon